National Awards and Recognitions

Utah Mothers and many members of Utah Mothers have been recognized by American Mothers for their outstanding organization and service.

Barbara Thompson Gift

In September 2000 American Mothers, Inc. announced the establishment  of a new award  honoring Barbara Thompson, the National 1995 Mother of the Year.  The award is named “The Barbara Thompson Gift”, and honors the outstanding example of this National Mother for her generosity and loving concern for the welfare of the  mothers and children of this country, and  her commitment to strengthen the moral and spiritual foundations of the family and the home.  Funded by her husband,  U.S. District Judge Ralph G. Thompson, the cash award will be given annually to support a needful and deserving mother, child or worthy cause as determined by a special committee that will include the President and Executive Director of American Mothers, Inc.  The gift is presented during the Annual National Convention of AMI.

Utah has had several recipients of this recognition. A $1,000 check is presented to the non-profit organization in the name of the recipient.

2016  Gladeeh Begaye (Orem) for her work with Reservations Bound, an organization that gathers household items, clothes, school supplies, coats, Christmas gifts, books, shoes, and hygiene items for Navajo Nation.

2013   Jill Bigelow (Pleasant Grove) for her work with the American Heritage School to aid with the Teddy Bear Project to provide bears to children who enter the Ogden Rescue Mission.

2011  Patti Adams (Hooper) for her work with the Freedom Riders which is an equine hippotherapy program that uses multidimensional movement of the horse as rehabilitation for children with physical disabilities.


AMI Lifetime Achievement Award

In 2014 American Mothers started recognizing women who had given years of service to the organization.

2016   Sherri Magnusson Zirker (Riverton). She was selected as the 1975 Washington State Young Mother. She served on state boards in Washington, Arizona, and Utah. She served on the AMI National Board as Third Vice President, Area Coordinator, Mother of the Year Chairman, Young Mother Chairman, and Education Chairman. She was a member of the Education Committee for 10 years and wrote over 100 lessons for the Young Mother Chapter program.

2015   Susan Hickenlooper (Cedar Hills).  Sue assisted with AMI National Convention held at the Waldorf=Astoria for many years before she became the national Executive Director. She served as the Executive Director for nearly 10 years. After that she served on the National Board as Area Coordinator and historian.  In 2005-2007 she served as National President.  She continued to assist with conventions and on committees.


Outstanding State Association

2015   Utah Mothers Association was the first recipient of this National award.